veganfatloss

How two guys lost 150 lbs on an easy to follow vegan diet!

The protein controversy, enough is enough

Leave a comment

image

The big question that folks always seem to get smug about is “how do you get enough protein?”

How do we indeed !

Surprisingly, there are a few ways for non meat eaters to approach the protein question.

a) don’t get enough protein, cause you don’t really need as much as you think

b) make sure that you get enough or close to enough in the foods that you do eat.

c) use protein supplements

In reality we have gone through different phases on this and have done all three individually over the past years. And I can say this, in terms of the way you feel , however you approach this it doesn’t really seem to make a difference.

Some weeks I have eaten as little as 20 or 30 grams a day of protein (the adult male recommended requirement is 80 grams per day) and others I have eaten way more. I feel exactly the same, and I think I pretty much look the same as well.

There is some evidence that people are fine with lower levels of protein munching, and that we are all being brainwashed about eating “enough” protein. The beef council perhaps?

 

pit also doesn’t seem to relate to weight loss in any way.

I am a 52 year old man with six children and a grandson, nobody is really looking. He is young and single, so it still matters! I suppose.

If you do end up using a supplement, you can choose between a few different options. We have ended up settling on rice protein, which I stir into my cereal in the morning a few days a week for a protein boost.  There is also whey and pea to choose from as well. The whey is obviously a dairy product.

It pays to really shop around. Online stores such as Amazon are often about half the price or have larger containers, and not to mention,a much better selection!

Author: Bill Kushner

I grew up in the San Fernando Valley area of Los Angeles and I now live in sunny Cleveland Heights Ohio with my family!

Leave a comment